on Feb 17th, 2008Security check - Is 90dayjane video linked to a virus?

***EDIT***

90dayjane old blog got removed http://90dayjane.blogspot.com and http://90dayjane.com (re-directed to the blogspot)

the new 90dayjane blog http://90-day-jane.blogspot.com/ which declare 90dayjane to be taking the suicide blog as an experiment might not even be the real 90dayjane !!!  Which would explain why  http://90dayjane.com domain isn’t re-directed to the “new” blog!!!

Ok, maybe I’m paranoid this time again. As I said in my previous post regarding malware detected on Ping.sg, I have a trust issue when it comes to the Internet.

90dayjane finally decides to tell everyone that she was doing an experiment - she wasn’t going to kill herself. I figured that out with my boyfriend a few days ago because of the way she talked about it. We even imagined various scenarios - she’s an emo transvestite, art & media student submitting a thesis, attention whore, or simply - nuts.

Thank god she’s really just doing an experiment - I’m quite sick of people threatening to kill themselves (the attention whores).

In the video above I created a PostSecret revealing this project for what it is. I am in no way affiliated with them, but their site does great work for suicide outreach. At any rate, PostSecret gives me both strength and perspective whenever I read it. I hope it does the same for you.

SEE. That LOOKS like a Youtube video but it is in fact NOT a Youtube video…


Why Jane… why would you put a picture of a Youtube video but that picture links to ANOTHER website that looks like 90dayjane’s blog!

90dayjane1

Look at the website it was linked to. IT LOOKS EXACTLY LIKE 90DAYJANE’s ORIGINAL WEBSITE !!! But it is hosted on http://cnn08.com AND it started popping up things for me to install a SETUP.EXE ……… WHHHAT? Youtube doesn’t do that to me, so that video couldn’t have been from youtube.

90dayjane

So I clicked on http://cnn08.com and it does look like a video hosting site - from CNN ! The site popped up yet another box asking me to install SETUP.EXE ?!?!

Hmmm… why would CNN do such a thing to their internet users? It doesn’t make any sense !

cnn

CNN spoof website

So I typed CNN.COM directly into my internet browser - the REAL CNN homepage, and clicked on CNN’s video page… Lo and behold…. IT DOES NOT POP UP ANY .EXE THINGIE FOR ME TO INSTALL.

real cnn

Real CNN

Ok, now when you compare the facts…

  1. cnn08.com is obviously a fake that tries to force you to install a SETUP.exe
  2. CNN’s video page is obviously different from cnn08.com
  3. Phishing websites impersonate trustworthy websites for the purpose of obtaining your personal or financial information. (Taken from Microsoft)
  4. 90dayjane linked people to another spoof of 90dayjane website and forces people to install SETUP.exe to view her latest video

Is it just me…………….. or is this cnn08.com and 90dayjane trying to make us install something BAD ?

Taking advice from U-zyn, a website can’t harm you. It’s when they make you install ActiveX or other setup files that might lead to your computer getting infected.

Am I still paranoid this time around?


Related posts:

  1. Mediacorp and Singapore Press Holdings at War?
  2. Halloween @ Zouk 31/10/2008 Pictures!
  3. Sarah Palin in Hustler latest sex video!
  4. How to remove thumb drive virus & reformat
  5. Dawn Yang is XiaXue’s Potential BFF?

2 Responses to “Security check - Is 90dayjane video linked to a virus?”

  1. Allenon 17 Feb 2008 at 9:38 pm

    I am sure about whether the 90dayjane video is linked to a virus website or not but based on the evidences that is presented in your blog, it certainly seems that it is belongs to the category of phlishing websites.

    About “Taking advice from U-zyn, a website can’t harm you. It’s when they make you install ActiveX or other setup files that might lead to your computer getting infected.”, I dont really quite agree with you.

    It doesnt mean that a website that does not make you install ActiveX or other setup files are not maliciously infected.

    A pure html coded website could be binded or injected with malware, in this way the website will not ask you whether to install ActiveX controls. You will be immediately infected once you viewed the website unless you have an anti virus that is capable of proactive scanning which I am sure most anti virus does.

    Anyway, just make sure you dont install those ActiveX controls nor any setup files that they asked you to download.

    Cheers!

  2. [...] posting about the fake 90dayjane blog that leads its reader to a bogus website that forces people to download ActiveX…, I was informed that I made it to 4th place for google search on 90dayjane [...]

Trackback URI | Comments RSS

Leave a Reply